Our Location

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

The Seven Phases Levels of Meditation Explained

Ever tried to meditate and felt more stressed out than relaxed? It’s a common issue. You sit down, close your eyes, and suddenly your mind is a whirlwind of thoughts and worries. Sounds familiar, right? Meditation can feel like an impossible task, but it doesn’t have to be. Let’s break down the seven phases of meditation to make it less daunting and more doable.

1. Preparation Phase

Question: How do I even start meditating?

This is where you set the stage. Think of it like prepping for a workout. You wouldn’t just jump into a sprint without stretching, right? In meditation, preparation is all about creating a conducive environment.

  • Find a quiet spot: Distractions are the enemy here. Pick a place where you won’t be disturbed.
  • Get comfortable: Sit in a way that’s comfortable for you. You don’t need to twist into a pretzel.
  • Set a timer: Start with 5-10 minutes and gradually increase.

2. Breath Awareness Phase

Question: Why is focusing on breathing so important?

Breath awareness is the bread and butter of meditation. It’s the anchor that keeps you present.

  • Simple but powerful: Focus on your breath. Notice the inhale, notice the exhale.
  • Wandering mind: Your mind will wander. That’s okay. Gently bring it back to your breath.
  • Benefits: This phase helps calm your mind and reduces stress.

3. Body Scan Phase

Question: What’s a body scan, and how does it help?

The body scan is like a mental inventory of your body. It’s about tuning into physical sensations.

  • Start from the top: Begin at your head and move down to your toes.
  • Notice sensations: Pay attention to areas of tension or discomfort.
  • Release tension: As you become aware, allow your body to relax.

4. Mindfulness of Thoughts Phase

Question: How do I deal with intrusive thoughts during meditation?

Thoughts are part of the package. The goal isn’t to eliminate them but to observe without getting tangled up.

  • Watch your thoughts: Imagine your thoughts as clouds passing by.
  • Non-judgmental awareness: Don’t judge the thoughts. Just notice and let them go.
  • Stay grounded: Keep bringing your focus back to your breath or body.

5. Loving-Kindness Phase

Question: How does loving-kindness meditation work?

This phase is about cultivating positive feelings towards yourself and others.

  • Start with yourself: Begin by directing kind thoughts to yourself. Phrases like “May I be happy” work well.
  • Expand outwards: Gradually extend these feelings to loved ones, acquaintances, and even difficult people.
  • Global kindness: Eventually, extend this kindness to all beings.

6. Deepening Concentration Phase

Question: How can I deepen my concentration during meditation?

Deep concentration, or single-pointed focus, takes your meditation to the next level.

  • Choose a focal point: This could be your breath, a word (mantra), or an image.
  • Stay with it: Keep your attention on this focal point. When your mind wanders, gently bring it back.
  • Build endurance: Over time, this strengthens your ability to concentrate.

7. Awareness and Insight Phase

Question: What’s the end goal of meditation?

This phase is about developing a deeper understanding of yourself and your place in the world.

  • Awareness: Cultivate a heightened awareness of your thoughts, emotions, and sensations.
  • Insight: Gain insights into the nature of your mind and how it operates.
  • Acceptance: Develop a sense of peace and acceptance with what is.


Q: How long should I meditate each day?
A: Start with 5-10 minutes and gradually increase to 20-30 minutes.

Q: What if I can’t sit still?
A: It’s normal to feel restless. Start with shorter sessions and gradually increase as you become more comfortable.

Q: Do I need to meditate at the same time every day?
A: Consistency helps, but flexibility is key. Find a routine that works for you.

Q: Can meditation help with anxiety?
A: Yes, regular meditation can reduce anxiety by promoting relaxation and mindfulness.

Final Thoughts

Meditation is a journey, not a destination. The seven phases of meditation guide you from basic preparation to deep insight. Remember, it’s about progress, not perfection. Start small, be patient, and let meditation become a part of your daily routine. The benefits will unfold naturally over time.

Embrace the process, stay curious, and enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Welcome to OldChakra, your sanctuary for chakra healing, spiritual growth, and nature therapy. At OldChakra, we believe in the transformative power of ancient practices and natural therapies to harmonize mind, body, and spirit. Our mission is to guide you on a journey of self-discovery and holistic well-being through insightful articles, practical tips, and inspiring stories.